top of page

To the Color Blind

So many times, in the color debate, people have a tendency to use the term ‘color blind’. As if to say, ‘I don’t see your color when I see you. I see you as I see myself.’ And in theory, that would be fine but out here where I live, it doesn’t work because I need you to see my color. As a black woman, I don’t need you to see me as you see yourself because when you do, you see me speaking, responding, living, and making the same choices you would. Which unfortunately I don't have the luxury of doing. When you see me as you see yourself, you require things of my character and personality that I could never become. Simply because I wasn’t built that way.


I need you to see my yellow skin and recognize the fact that I, Staci Sweet, am black and as such, I think and see life through a different lens. And if you’d open your real eyes as opposed to seeing me through your blind ones, you’d see me with your heart because that's where I need you to see me. See that I respond differently because I live differently than you. I appreciate the gesture behind your colorblindness, but unfortunately, that’s apart of the problem. You are blind but I need you to see me for who I am. And if you don’t understand me, say that. But don’t hide behind it because that’s not fair or true. Because if you did, then you’d know that God made you differently than anybody else, as He did me.


So instead of saying that there is no such thing as color or that you’re blind to it, just open your eyes sir or ma'am and see me, for who I am. Find out why I feel the way I do. Get to know me with the eyes of your heart because that's where I see you. I would never tell you that I don’t see color when I see you because to do so would be disrespectful and would dishonor who you are and what you bring to the table. So do us a favor and get your eyes checked. Then lets circle back and have a real conversation about our colorful experiences.


Copyright 2018 © Real Issues Publishing®. All rights reserved.

Коментари


bottom of page