top of page

Black Hebrew Israelites

I just watched a report of an attack on a Kosher Market in New Jersey by two Black Hebrew Israelites. When I heard the report, immediately I thought this was done by white supremist. But when I saw their faces, I was shocked to see...they were black. Before we move on, I want to publicly repent because the fact that I automatically assumed they were white men means that there's some sort of prejudice there. So, to you, my dear reader, I publicly acknowledge that I was and have since repented before God and asked for His help to remove it. Back to the story. When I saw that they were black and identified as Black Hebrew Israelites, I wondered what would make them hate kosher Jews? You would think that because they are ‘supposedly’ from the same Jewish background that they would favor the Jews, but they do not, but why?


Historically blacks aren’t identified as Jews. In fact, black Jews are rarely, if ever, shown when reported on. But because I’ve watched TBN, a Christian broadcasting network for so long, I know they do exist - in high numbers. In fact, there are Asian and Russian Jews. There are even Iranian Jews, if I’m not mistaken. So the gambit of their ancestry, I think is the term, is diverse. But again, typically when you think of Jews, they, meaning Black Jews, don't come to mind and are hardly ever shown. Not only that, but Jews hardly identify or associate themselves with those who don’t per se, look like kosher Jews. That said and even still, if their, meaning Black Hebrew Israelites, ancestry can trace back to Moses, which more than likely it can, then certainly, by all means, you should identify yourself as such and may even have the right to be a little perturbed with the lack of acknowledgement. But where does the hatred come from?


As I thought about it, the Holy Spirit reminded me of Titus 3:9 which says, ‘But avoid foolish disputes, genealogies, contentions, and strivings about the law; for they are unprofitable and useless.’ Though I don't know their motive, the spirit behind it is in this verse. Whatever their beef, it’s rooted in the law. Because they don’t believe in grace or walk by faith, they mistakenly use their genealogy, and the law, as a point of contention. Am I now taking a stance against Black Hebrew Israelites? Absolutely not, and here's why.

Most see this as a black and white issue; where black Jews are now against the white Jews. But the truth of the matter is that some white Jews don’t believe that Jesus is the Messiah, just like some Black Hebrew Israelites don’t know Jesus for Himself. Because if Jesus was a black Hebrew, then He was killed by His own people. For had they have known Jesus, ‘…they would not have crucified the Lord of glory’, and neither would they have acted so atrociously (1 Corinthians 2:8). So as a black woman, I’m not going to be clouded by the color of this because the fact of the matter is that there are white Jews who don’t believe Jesus is the Messiah which puts them in the same boat as a Jihadist. One doesn’t believe that the Messiah has come while the other doesn’t believe that the One who came, is. Though different perspectives, still the same point of view. And if that's the case, and it is, then this isn't about color but BELIEF. I'm for Jesus, no matter what color He is.


One things for certain. This is yet another point-of-contention-ingredient added to a full pot of racially-charged-religious-acts-of-hate-stew. But while it's being prepared, just remember, Jesus said, "...you will hear of wars and rumors of wars. See that you are not troubled; for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet. For nation will rise against nation...' Nation in Greek is ethnos which means ethnicities and cultures. Therefore, what we are seeing only solidifies that the Messiah has come and prophesied about the cultural conflicts we are witnessing today. When you hear of these reports, pay attention to the spirit behind it and not the color of it.



Opmerkingen


bottom of page